Hymns - Waves of Nothing EP

Hymns - Waves of Nothing EP

Salt Mines


12" Vinyl

Making his long awaited return to Salt Mines, Hymns produces a debut 12” flecked with restrained breakbeats, off-kilter rhythms and glistening pads. Opener ‘Water Acid’ is an eerie amalgamation of aquatic electro and tense emotion, built for a fractured dancefloor deep in the arctic ring. A2 ‘Searching For The Real’ provides a brief moment of introspection, before B-side leader ‘Heinz Harald Frentzen’ crashes down and amplifies the intensity with sharp breaks and rapid, stark percussion. Closing the release, title track ‘Waves of Nothing’ showcases Hymns at his best, utilising lonely synths and equally mechanical and organic percussion to create a sentimental, vulnerable climax.

A1. Hymns - Water Acid

A2. Hymns - Searching for the real 

B1. Hymns - Heinz Harald Frentzen 

B2. Hymns - Waves of nothing